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EFFECTIVE JULY 12, 2016
REVISION TO ADVISORY OPINION (AO) - AO-2013-04

The Office of the Labor Commissioner has reviewed the current Advisory Opinion and finds that
a minor revision is necessary 10 balance the needs of employees and employers. The following
fanguage replaces Paragraph 11 of AO 2013-04 — Four (4) Ten (10) Schedules or “4 10s.”

IHI. OVERTIME PAY IS NOT REQUIRED 1IF AN EMPLOYELE’S DECISION OR A
CIRCUMSTANCE OUTSIDE OF THE EMPLOYER’S CONTROL 1S THE REASON
FOR A FAILURE TO WORK A SCHEDULED “4 10s.”

The Office of the Labor Commissioner is tasked with enforcing Nevada’s wage and hour laws.
This office attempts to do so in a way that is fair and beneficial to both Nevada employees and
employers. As such, this office has attempted to come up with a fair solution to the unintended
consequences of the “4 105 exception to Nevada’s overtime law The office revises its earlier
opinion (o address the payment of daily overtime when circumstances outside of the employer’s
control exist and which prevent an employee from working a scheduled “4 10s”. This lmited
revision fairly balances the needs of employees and employers.

If an employee does not work a scheduled “4 10s™ due to a decision made by the employee, for
reasons within the employee’s control, or to the employee’s benelit, or due to circumstances that
are out of the control of the employer, including, but not limited to inclement weather or other
circumstances that make the employee’s scheduled work impossible or impracticable, the
empjover is only required to pay the employee’s regular wage for the hours the employee
actually worked during that work week. When an employee does not work a scheduled “4 10s”
due to circumstances out of the employer’s control, an employer may, but is not required to,
offer an employee a make-up or replacement shift for the missed scheduled “4 10s” within any
scheduled week of work, However, an employee shall not be obligated to work the offered
make-up shift. An employer can always choose to pay an employee for a full 40 hour work
week even if they worked less than 40 hours, and this Office would not penalize an employer for
doing so.

It still remains opinton of this office that if an employee does not work a scheduled 4 10s™ due
to circumstances within the control of the employer, the employer is required to pay the
employee overtime for any day during the work week in which the employee worked more than
8 hours.

Outside of the situations discussed in this advisory opinion, the usual overtime rules would
apply. Due o the limited nature of the “4 10s” exceplion to Nevada's overtime law, it is
important for Nevada employers and employees to adhere to an agreed upon “4 108 schedule.
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July 25, 2013

Michele Daugherty

Associated Builders and Contractors, Inc,
240 S, Rock Bivd., Suite 121

Reno NV 84502

Re:  Advisory Opinion of the Nevada Labor Commissioner
The “4 105" exception to Nevada’s overtime law under NRS 608.018 and
NRS 338.020 (AO 2013-04)

Ms. Daugherty:

In response to your request for an Advisory Opinion from the Nevada Labor Commissioner
explaining this office’s enforcement policy regarding the “4 F0s” exception fo Nevada’s
overtime law under NRS 608.018 and NRS 338.020, the Office of the Labor Commissioner has
conducted a thorough review of all refevant statutes and regulations. It is the position of the
Nevada Labor Commissioner that an employer is not required to pay overtime when it is a
decision of the employee that results in an employee failing to work a scheduled “4 10s”.

I. NEVADA EMPLOYERS ARE REQUIRED TO PAY OVERTIME UNLESS
THERE IS A MUTUAL AGREEMENT TO WORK A SCHEDULED “4 10s”

Pursuant to NRS 608.018, an employer is required to pay 1.5 times an employee’s regular wage
rate when an employee works more than 40 hours in any scheduled week of work or more than 8
hours in any workday,' whichever happens first.? The same requirements apply to public works
under NRS 338.020. However, an employer is not obligated to pay overtime if there is a mutual

'This office’s policies regarding time clock rounding still apply. You can find the advisory opinion on time clock
rounding on our websife (www.laborcommissioner,.comy).

2 provided the employee’s regular wage is less than 1.5 times minimum wage, which is currently $10.875 if the
employer offers qualifying insurance and $12.375 if they do not.



agreement between the employee and the employer that the employee work a scheduled 10 hours
per day for 4 days within any work week.

The “4 10s” exception to Nevada’s overtime law is beneficial to Nevada employers and
employees alike. 1t provides employees flexibility in scheduling their work week and ensures
that employers can still meet their needs. Nevertheless, this particular overtime exception has
some unintended consequences.

I1. THE “4 10s” EXCEPTION TO NEVADA’S OVERTIME LAW FREQUENTL Y
RESULTS IN EMPLOYERS HAVING TO PAY OVERTIME

While this office recognizes the importance and many benefits of the “4 10s” exception to
Nevada’s overtime law, there are also some unintended consequences that this office encounters
with some frequency. There are many situations that would require an employer to pay
employees overtime despite the “4 10s” exception. While it is impossible to describe every
scenario that could or has arisen, there is one example that illustrates the point well—when an
employee doesn’t work a full 10-hour shift on his or her fourth 10-hour day.

As the law is written now, when an employee does not work a full 10-hour shift on his or her
fourth day, the employer is forced to pay two hours of overtime for each of the three previous
days. This results in an additional expense to the employer that he or she must absorb and ofien
rust pass on to customers, Additionally, it often negatively affects the employer-employee
relationship. This was not the intent of the “4 108 exception.

L. OVERTIME IS NOT REQUIRED IF AN EMPLOYELR'S DECEISION LS THI
REASON FOR A FAILURE TO WORK A SCHEDULE “4 10s”

The Office of the Labor Commissioner is tasked with enforcing Nevada’s wage and hour laws.
This office attempts to do so in a way that is fair and beneficial to both Nevada employces and
employers. As such, this office has attempted to come up with a fair solution to the unintended
consequences of the “4 10s” exception to Nevada’s overtime law,

If an employee does not work a scheduled “4 10s” due to a decision made by the employee or for
reasons within the employee’s control or to the employee’s benefit, the employer is only required
{o pay the employee’s regular wage for the hours the employee actually worked during that work
week.” On the other hand, if an employee does not work a scheduled “4 10s™ due to a decision
made by the employer or for reasons not within the employee’s control, the employer is required

* Nothing in this advisory opinion prohibits an employer from paying an employee for the full 40 hour work week
even if the employee works less than 40 hours. It is not the policy of this office to penalize an employer who pays
{heir employees for a full 40 hour work week when the employee worked less than 40 hours.



to pay ihe employee overtime for any day during the work wecek in which the employee worked
4
more than 8 hours.

Outside of the situations discussed in this advisory opinion, the usual overtime rutes would
apply. Due to the limited nature of the “4 108 exception to Nevada’s overtime aw, 10 1s

important for Nevada employers and employees to adhere to an agreed upon 4 108 schedule.

CONCLUSTON

After a thorough review of alt applicable statutes and authority, it is the position of the Nevada
Labor Commissioner that an employer is not required 1o pay overtime when it is a decision of the
emiployee that results in an employee failing to work a scheduled “4 10s™.

sincerely,

Thosran Towler
Nevada Labor Commissioner

T Also, in the event of a natural disaster, which is ouiside the control of hoth the employce and employer, making it
impossible for an employee to work a scheduled “4 1087, the employer is only required to pay the employee’s
regular wage rate for the hours the employee actually worked.



