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December 22, 2016

Rick D. Roskelley

Littler Mendelson, PC

3960 Howard Hughes Parkway
Suite 300

Las Vegas, Nevada 89169-5937

Re: Advisory Opinion of the Nevada Labor Commissioner Use of the
Fluctuating Workweek

Dear Mr. Roskelley:

Pursuant to Nevada Administrative Code (NAC) Section 607.650, an Advisory
Opinion has been requested from the Nevada Labor Commissioner concerning
whether an employer in Nevada may use the fluctuating workweek method
(“FWW?”) to compensate a nonexempt employee, who is paid a fixed-salary
for all hours worked, for overtime hours worked in excess of 40 in a week
of work under NRS 608.018.

. NEVADA LAW PERMITS THE USE OF THE FWW METHOD

Nevada Revised Statutes (NRS) 608.018(2) requires that any employer pay a
nonexempt employee “1 1/2 times an employee’s regular wage rate” whenever
the employee works more than 40 hours in a week of work. The statute is silent
on what method is to be used to calculate the “regular wage rate”.

Specifically, NRS 608.018(2) Compensation for Overtime, provides as follows:

An employer shall pay 1 1/2 times an employee’s regular wage rate
whenever an employee who receives compensation for employment
at a rate not less than 1 1/2 times the minimum rate prescribed
pursuant to NRS 608.250 works more than 40 hours in any
scheduled week of work.




Despite the fact that the Nevada Revised Statutes are silent on this issue, the
Nevada Administrative Code (NAC) does specify the method to be used to
calculate the “regular wage rate” for purposes of Compensation for Overtime
under NRS 608.018(2). Specifically, NAC Section 608.125(2) provides:

If an employee is paid by salary, piece rate or any other wage rate
except for a wage rate based on an hour of time, the rate of
compensation for the purposes of paragraph (b) of subsection 2 of
NRS 608.018 is determined by dividing the amount paid to an
employee in a week by the number of hours worked by the employee
during the week.

Il FEDERAL LAW PERMITS THE USE OF THE FWW METHOD

Under the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA):

An employee employed on a salary basis may have hours of work which
fluctuate from week to week and the salary may be paid him pursuant to
an understanding with his employer that he will receive such fixed amount
as straight time pay for whatever hours he is called upon to work in a
workweek, whether few or many. Where there is a clear mutual
understanding of the parties that the fixed salary is compensation (apart
from overtime premiums) for the hours worked each workweek, whatever
their number, rather than for working 40 hours or some other fixed weekly
work period, such a salary arrangement is permitted by the Act if the
amount of the salary is sufficient to provide compensation to the employee
at a rate not less than the applicable minimum wage rate for every hour
worked in those workweeks in which the number of hours he works is
greatest, and if he receives extra compensation, in addition to such salary,
for all overtime hours worked at a rate not less than one-half his regular
rate of pay. Since the salary in such a situation is intended to compensate
the employee at straight time rates for whatever hours are worked in the
workweek, the regular rate of the employee will vary from week to week
and is determined by dividing the number of hours worked in the workweek
into the amount of the salary to obtain the applicable hourly rate for the
week. Payment for overtime hours at one-half such rate in addition to the
salary satisfies the overtime pay requirement because such hours have
already been compensated at the straight time regular rate, under the
salary arrangement. (29 CFR §778.114(1)).




The FWW method has also been approved where an employee on a fixed salary is
also paid commissions and bonuses. In Lalli v. General Nutrition Centers, et. al, No.
15-1199 (1%t Cir. Feb. 12, 2016), the First Circuit Court of Appeals held that the FWW
method applied to a store manager who earned a guaranteed weekly salary regardless
of the hours he worked and was paid a non-discretionary sales commission that varied
based on the sales he made that week. The employer in Lalli calculated overtime
compensation for the manager by adding both salary and commissions for the week,
dividing the total by the number of hours worked, and paying an additional 50% of the
resulting regular rate for any hour worked in excess of 40 hours. The Court upheld this
method of calculation and stated “[similarly], section 778.109 states that it is the “total
remuneration’ (except statutory exclusions) that must be included in the regular-rate
calculation, suggesting that different types of remuneration (e.g., salary plus
commissions) may be combined in a compliant plan.” /d. at 15. The Court then
concluded that these compensation arrangements comply with 29 CFR 778.114 and
29 CFR 778.118 and combination of these two permissible methods of calculation
does not render the former inapplicable. /d. at 24.

. FEDERAL LAW AND NEVADA LAW DO NOT CONFLICT REGARDING
USE OF THE FWW METHOD

The Office of the Labor Commissioner is tasked with enforcing Nevada wage and hour
laws. In particular, this office is charged with ensuring that all employees are treated
fairly under the law. It is the position of the Nevada Labor Commissioner that the use
of the FWW method for calculating an employee’s “regular wage rate” for purposes of
compensation for overtime under NRS 608.018(2) is permissible.

NAC 608.125 and 29 CFR §778.114 are in harmony with one another. Neither Nevada
case law, nor Nevada statutes specifically prohibit the use of the FWW method. In fact,
NAC 608.125 should be considered the equivalent of 29 CFR §778.114. Therefore,
the Nevada Office of the Labor Commissioner approves the use of the FWW method
to calculate the overtime rate of a nonexempt fixed-salary employee based on the
information presented. In addition, the Nevada Office of the Labor Commissioner
approves the use of the FWW method to determine the overtime rate of a nonexempt
fixed-salary employee that also receives commissions and/or bonuses as long as
those commissions and/or bonuses are included in the weekly amount of pay when
determining the employee’s “regular wage rate”.




IV. CONCLUSION

After a thorough review of all applicable statutes and authorities, it is the position of the
Nevada Labor Commissioner that use of the FWW method to calculate the overtime
rate of a nonexempt fixed-salary employee, or a fixed-salary employee that also
receives commissions and/or bonuses, is appropriate. Therefore, National Debt Relief
may use the FWW method of calculation of overtime in accordance with this Advisory
Opinion.

This Advisory Opinion is based on the information presented at this time and may be
subject to change based on changes in State or Federal laws and regulation,
information of non-compliance, and any additional relevant information that may justify
an additional review and/or interpretation of the new or additional information

presented.

Should you need any additional clarification, please do not hesitate to contact me at
your earliest opportunity at (775) 684-1890.

Sincerel

hannon M. Chambers
Labor Commissioner




