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Nevada’s minimum wage and daily overtime rates will not increase in 2017 

 

Carson City, NV — The Office of the Labor Commissioner released the annual bulletins for Nevada’s 

minimum wage and daily overtime requirements that will take effect July 1, 2017.  The rates for the 

upcoming year will remain unchanged from last year. 

 

The minimum wage for employees who are offered qualified health benefits from their employers will 

remain at $7.25 per hour and the minimum wage for employees who are not offered health benefits will 

remain $8.25 per hour. 

 

The 2006 Minimum Wage Amendment to the Nevada Constitution requires the minimum wage to be 

recalculated each year based on increases in the federal minimum wage or if greater by the cumulative 

increase in the cost of living. 

  

The rate for daily overtime will also remain the same because the minimum wage rate is not changing. 

Nevada is one of a few states with a daily overtime requirement in addition to the requirement to pay 

overtime for more than 40 hours in a workweek.  

 

Employees who are offered qualified health benefits from their employers and earn less than $10.875 per 

hour, and employees earning less than $12.375 per hour who are not offered qualified health benefits must 

be paid overtime whenever they work more than 8 hours in a 24-hour period.  Employees that are exempt 

from overtime under Nevada state law are not subject to these requirements. 
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Additional information regarding the minimum wage and daily overtime rates is available from the Office 

of the Labor Commissioner at:  (702) 486-2650, Las Vegas; (775) 684-1890, Carson City.  The Annual 

Bulletins containing the rates are available on-line from the Office of the Labor Commissioner’s website at  

www.labor.nv.gov or in hard copy form by request to the Office of the Labor Commissioner. 

 

About the Office of the Labor Commissioner 

The Office of the Labor Commissioner is a division of the Department of Business and Industry. The 

Labor Commissioner strives to ensure that all workers are treated fairly under the law by investigating 

complaints of non-payment of wages, State minimum wage, overtime, and prevailing wage disputes. 

The office also monitors youth employment standards, including work hours and safe, non-hazardous 

working conditions.  
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