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Are salary employees   

automatically exempt   

from overtime? 

 Salary employees are   

not automatically         

exempt from overtime  

and must meet an      

overtime exemption      

under NRS 608.018. 

How often must an        

employee be paid? 

 Employers must pay  

their employees at       

least twice a month.          

NRS 608.060. 

When does overtime    

need to be paid? 

 If your employee    

makes less than one      

and one half times     

minimum wage per     

hour you need to pay 

overtime for time   

worked over 8 hours       

in a 24-hour period       

and also for time  worked 

over 40 hours in their 

work week. If they make 

more than one and one 

half times minimum   

wage  you need to pay 

them overtime for time  

worked over 40  hours    

in a work week.          

NRS 608.018. 

Can money be deducted 

from an employees pay 

check?  

 Deductions, other      

than those required by 

law  and contributions   

to benefit programs,    

can only be deducted 

from your employee’s         

paycheck if there is prior 

written authorization 

from the employee.  

Blanket authorization are 

not valid.  NRS 608.110 

and NAC 608.160. 

How often must breaks    

be given?  

 An employee must be 

given a paid, 10 minute 

break for  each 4 hour 

period of work.  In     

addition,  employees     

are entitled to an unpaid, 

30 minute meal period 

for each 8 hour period   

of work. NRS 608.019, 

NAC 608.145.  

May a employer take a 

portion of a  employees 

tips? 

 An employer may not 

take all or a part of any 

tips or gratuities or     

apply as a credit toward 

the payment of minimum 

wage. NRS 608.160. 

FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS 

What is Minimum   

Wage in Nevada? 

 Nevada is a two tier 

minimum wage       

system. Minimum  

wage is  $7.25 for    

employers who       

offer employees a 

qualified health       

insurance plan. $8.25 

must be paid  if the 

employer does not  

offer a qualified   

health insurance plan. 

Article 15 of the      

Nevada Constitution. 

When must a discharged 

employee be paid? 

 A discharged           

employees  wages shall 

be due and payable 

immediately.          

NRS 608.020. 

When must a quitting 

employee be paid? 

 Final wages must  be 

paid within seven days 

after the employee  

resigns or by the next 

regularly scheduled 

payday, whichever is 

earlier. NRS 608.030.  
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Is Tip Pooling allowed     

under Nevada Law? 

    Yes, employers may       

establish mandatory tip 

pools that include        

employees of different 

ranks, so long as all the 

tips are distributed 

amongst the employees, 

and the employer does  

not keep any portion      

of the tips for themselves.                    

Wynn Las Vegas, LLC v. 

Baldonado, et al., 129 

Nev.,Advance Opinion 78 

(Oct. 31, 2013). 

May an employer charge for 

uniforms? 

 No, all uniforms or             

accessories distinctive     

as to style, color or      

material shall be furnished, 

without cost, to employees 

by their employer.                 

NRS 608.165. 

 

* Please check most recent 

version of NRS and NAC    

for most current laws. This        

information is not intended as 

legal advice. 
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