Can an employer cut my hours or
terminate my employment?

*Yes. Nevada labor laws do not
require employers to guarantee
hours worked. In addition, because
Nevada is an “at will” employment
state, the employer or employee can
terminate the employment
relationship at any time with or
without notice. It is recommended
that employers explore other
options before taking any of these
actions.

Can an employer decrease or
change my rate of pay?

*Yes. However, Nevada law
requires a 7-day written notice
before a decrease in wages can take
effect. (NRS 608.100)

Can an employer pay less than
minimum wage or not pay
overtime?

*No. Currently, an employer must
pay the current minimum wage of
$8.75 if health benefits are offered
and $9.75 if health benefits are not
offered. Overtime is required to be
paid for time worked over 8-hours
in a 24-hour period if the employee
makes less than $13.125 (offered
health benefits) and $14.625 (not
offered health benefits) or for over
40-hours of work in a workweek.

How often mustan employee be
paid?

*Employeesmustbe paid at east
semi-monthly. (NRS608.060)

When must a discharged employee

be paid?
¢+ Adischarged employee’swages
shall be due and payable
immediately. If not paid within 3-days
penalties may apply. (NRS 608.020 &
608.040)

Whenmusta quittingemployee
be paid?

*Final wages must be paid within
7-days after the employeeresigns
orby thenext regularly scheduled
payday, whichever is earlier.
(NRS 608.030)

How oftenmustbreaksbegiven?

¢ An employee must begiven a
paid, 10-minutebreak foreach4-
hour period of work. Inaddition,
employees are entitled to an
unpaid, 30- minute meal period for
each 8- hour period of work. (NRS
608.019 & NAC 608.145)

Does a sick employee have to
report to work?

*No. Anemployeeis not required to
be physically presentat work tonotify
his or her employer that he or she is
sick or hassustained anon-work-
relatedinjury and cannot work.

(NRS 613.155)

Doesanemployer have toprovide
paidleave?

*Yes. Effective January 1, 2020, a
private employer who employs
50 or more employeesin the
state of Nevadamust provide
0.01923 hour of paid leave per
hourofwork performed.
(SenateBill (S5B) 312-80t
Legislative Session 2019)

Doesanemployer have toprovide

paidleave for me to obtain the

COVID-19 vaccination?
*Yes. Effective June 9, 2021, a private
employer who employs 50 or more
employees must provide 2-4 hours of
paid leave to obtain a Covid-19
vaccination. SB 209 81st Legislative
Session 2021)
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Can an employer require me to
stay away from work if I traveled?

*Possibly. The Centers for Disease Control
and Prevention (CDC) provides travel
advisories for certain areas. Recent travel to
highly impacted areas or potential exposure to
COVID-19 even if vaccinated, could require
the employee to stay away from the office for a
designated period.

If I am required to stay away from
the office because of recent travel
or illness, will I get paid?

¢ Possibly. Employers may allow
telework or implement policies
providing paid leave consistent with SB
312 or offer more generous paid leave
policies. Employees may be required to
utilize paid leave or Family Medical
Leave Act (FMLA) leave depending
upon the duration of the employee’s
absence and condition. Federal
emergency paid sick leave may also be
offered at the option of the employer.
Mandatory Quarantines may also
require the employer to not count this
leave against an employee and pay them
for this leave or allow the employee to
use paid leave.

Can an employer deduct cleaning
costs or other charges relating to
COVID-19 from my paycheck?

*No. Written authorization including
the specific amount being deducted, the
purpose for the deduction, and the pay
period/date in which the deduction will
be made is required. (NRS 608.110 &
NAC 608.160)

Can I be fired for refusing to take the
COVID-19 vaccine?

*Possibly. Nevada is an “at will”
employment state. You can contact the
Nevada Equal Rights Commission or
Federal Equal Employment
Opportunity Commission about the
issue of mandatory vaccination for
employment.


https://www.dol.gov/whd/flsa
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