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Major Responsibilities

Private Sector Employment

Public Works Projects, Prevailing Wages On
Public Works Projects, and Apprenticeship
Utilization on Public Works Projects

Regulate Private Employment Agencies



Statutory and Requlatory Authotit

@

- Pursuant to Nevada Revised Statutes

(NRS) and Nevada Administrative Code
NAC):

NRS 607 — Office of the Labor Commissioner
NRS 608 — Compensation, Wages and Hours
NRS 609 — Employment of Minors

NRS 610 — *Apprenticeship (OWINN)

NRS 611 — Private Employment Agencies

NRS 613 — Employment Practices**

NRS 614 — Organized Labor and Labor Disputes

NRS 338 — Public Works

NAC 607 — Rules of Practice

NAC 608 — Compensation, Wages and Hours
NAC 609 — Employment of Minors

NAC 610 — *Apprenticeship (OWINN)

NAC 611 — Private Employment Agencies
NAC 613 — Employment Practices

NAC 338 — Public Works

** NRS 613.040-13.070 and NRS 613.310-613.435 are not enforced by the Labor Commissioner.
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Overview of Public Works and
Prevailing Wage Laws

Nevada Revised Statutes (NRS)
338 and Nevada Administrative

Code (338)



General Responsibilities of the Publi

3 .
~ Body/Awarding Body & Charter School
Construction over $100K

1.  Request for Public Works Project (PWP) number.
2. Request for Waiver — Apprenticeship Utilization Act
3. Naotification of canceled/delayed Public Works Projects.

4. Bid Project (See NRS 338.013; NRS 338.1385 et. seq.) — Prevailing
Wage Rates in effect at the time of opening of bids remain in effect for
the duration of the project (See NAC 338.040). *Projects over
36months.

5. Notice of award for Public Works Projects

6. Project begins and Prevailing Wages are posted on jobsite (See NRS
338.020)

7. Monitor Certified Payroll Reports (CPR’Ss).

8. Investigate Prevailing Wage Claims/Complaints (if necessary NRS
338.070)

9.  Notice of completion for Public Works Project.



: /General Res}| onsibilities of the

Contractors

1. Contractors report subcontractors working on Public Works Project 10 days after the
subcontractor commences work. (See NRS 338.013)

2. Determine Need for Request for Waiver with Public/Awarding Body Apprenticeship Utilization Act.

3. Contractors engaged on public works projects must submit certified payroll reports within 15 days
after the end of the month. (See NRS 338.070)

4. General contractor is responsible for wages. (See NRS 608.150)

5. The cs)ntractor and any subcontractor must maintain payroll records. (See NAC 338.092 —
338.100

6. *NRS 608.150 Original contractor liable for indebtedness for labor incurred by
subcontractor or contractor acting under, by or for original contractor: exceptions: civil
action to recover.*

[1:208:1931; 1931 NCL § 2824] + [2:208:1931; 1931 NCL § 2825] — (NRS A 1967, 623; 1985, 580; 1999, 206; 2015, 1931; 2017, 1212)



https://www.leg.state.nv.us/Statutes/54th/Stats196704.html#Stats196704page623
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/Statutes/63rd/Stats198503.html#Stats198503page580
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/Statutes/70th/Stats199902.html#Stats199902page206
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/Statutes/78th2015/Stats201518.html#Stats201518page1931
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/Statutes/79th2017/Stats201707.html#Stats201707page1212

PREVAILING WAGE: Published each odd numbered year by October 1st,
(See also SB 243 — 2019 Legislative Session) The rates will be calculated
by four Prevailing Wage Regions: Washoe County (Urban Region); Carson
City, Churchill, Douglas, Elko, Eureka, Humboldt, Lander, Mineral, Storey,
Pershing and White Pine (Northern Rural); Clark County (Urban Region);
and Esmeralda, Lincoln and Nye (Southern Rural). (NRS 338.030; NAC
338.010) See SB243 passed 2019 Legislative Session.

https://www.leqg.state.nv.us/App/NELIS/REL/80th2019/Bill/6411/Text

90% Rate on_School Projects — Eliminated pursuant to AB 136 — Effect
July 1, 2019. See AB 136 passed during the 2019 Legislative Session.
https://www.leqg.state.nv.us/App/NELIS/REL/80th2019/Bill/6203/Text

Charter Schools: Charter Schools - Pursuant to AB 136 passed during the
2019 Legislative Session, Charter Schools are now subject to Public
Works and Prevailing Wage laws.
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/App/NELIS/REL/80th2019/Bill/6203/Text

PRO}]]ECTS OVER 36 MONTHS — Adjustment of rates if project goes over 36
months.
https://www.leqg.state.nv.us/App/NELIS/REL/80th2019/Bill/6293/Overvie
W 7



https://www.leg.state.nv.us/App/NELIS/REL/80th2019/Bill/6411/Text
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/App/NELIS/REL/80th2019/Bill/6203/Text
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/App/NELIS/REL/80th2019/Bill/6203/Text
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/App/NELIS/REL/80th2019/Bill/6293/Overview

NAC 338.009 Workers deemed to be employed on public works: Interpretation of
certain statutory terms. (See NRS 338.012; NRS 338.020; and NRS 338.040)

1. Asusedin NRS 338.040, the Labor Commissioner will interpret:

(a) “Employed at the site of a public work” to mean the performance of work in the
execution of a contract for a public work at the physical place or places at which the work is
performed or at which a significant portion of the public work is constructed, altered or repaired
If such place is established specifically for the execution of the contract for the public work or
dedicated exclusively, or nearly so, to the execution of the contract for the public work.

(b) “Necessary in the execution of the contract for the public work” to mean the
performance of duties required to construct, alter or repair the public work and without which
the public work could not be completed.

2. As used in this section, “site of a public work” includes job headquarters, a tool yard,
batch plant, borrow pit or any other location that is established for the purpose of executing the
contract for the public work or that is dedicated exclusively, or nearly so, to executing the
contract for the public work. The term does not include a permanent home office, branch plant
establishment, fabrication plant, tool yard or any other operation of a contractor, subcontractor
or supplier if the location or the continued existence of the operation is determined without
regard to a particular public work.

NRS 338.020 - Hourly and daily rate of wages must not be less than Prevailing Wage Rate set for County.

NRS 338.050 — Prevailing Wage applies to contract and temporary workers.

NAC 338.0095 Workers and apprentices: Payment of applicable prevailing rate of wage for type of work
actually performed and in accordance with recognized class of workers; identification of employer.




= “Wage Rate

Apprentices - Workers who are enrolled in a bona fide apprenticeship program and
registered with the Nevada State Apprenticeship Council are exempt from being paid
the prevailing wage rate. (See NAC 338.0095 above)

See also Advisory Opinion on Apprenticeship Wages — Apprenticeship Wages can be

established by Collective Bargaining Agreement.
http://labor.nv.gov/uploadedFiles/labornvgov/content/About/AO%20Apprentice%20Wage
$%200n%20Public%20Works%20Projects.pdf

Design Professionals The exception being a design professional. A design
professional is defined as a person who is licensed as a professional engineer or a
professional land surveyor, pursuant to chapter 625 of the NRS; a person who holds a
certificate of registration to engage in the practice of architecture, interior design, or
residential design, pursuant to chapter 623 of the NRS; or a person who holds a
certificate of registration to engage in the practice of landscape architecture, pursuant
to chapter 623A of the NRS. (See NRS 338.010(7))

Service Providers — See Advisory Opinion.

http://labor.nv.gov/uploadedFiles/labornvgov/content/About/ AO%20SERVICE%20PROVI
DERS%20A0%202015%2005.pdf

* Different rates may also apply for Foreman, General Foreman and Journeyman.



http://labor.nv.gov/uploadedFiles/labornvgov/content/About/AO%20Apprentice%20Wages%20on%20Public%20Works%20Projects.pdf
http://labor.nv.gov/uploadedFiles/labornvgov/content/About/AO%20SERVICE%20PROVIDERS%20AO%202015%2005.pdf

e

Complaint Process

Acceptancel/initial review of a Prevailing Wage Claim/Complaint. (See NAC 338.105-
NAC 338.116)

Office of the Labor Commissioner Investigation. (See NAC 338.114) or;

Referral of Prevailing Wage Claim/Complaint to Awarding/Public body for
Investigation.

. Notice to awarding body
. Awarding bodies investigate complaints or wage claims pursuant to NAC
338.110

Receipt of Determination.
Action on Determination — Objections Filed. (See NAC 338.105 - NAC 338.116)
Hearing Process. (If Necessary)

. Pre-Hearing

. Final Hearing

. Final Order and Decision

. Petition for Judicial Review

. Possible Appeal to Appellate Court, etc.

(See NAC 338.107 Complaint of violation: Filing with Labor Commissioner; contents;
service.)
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APPRENTICESHIP UTILIZATION ACT — SENATE BILL 207 (2019)

The Legislature hereby finds and declares that: 1. A skilled workforce in construction is essential to the economic
well-being of this State: 2. Apprenticeship programs are a proven method of training a skilled workforce in
construction; and 3. Fegquiring the use of apprentices on the construction of public works will ensure the availability
of a skilled workforce in construction in the fisture for this State.

Sec. 1.7. 1. Notwithstanding any other provision of this chapter and except as otherwise provided in this section. a
contractor or subcontractor engaged in vertical constmuction who employs a worker on a public work pursuant to WNES
332.040 shall use one or more apprentices for at least 10 percent of the total hours of labor worked for each apprenticed
craft or type of work to be performed on the public work for which more than three workers are employed.

2. Notwithstanding any other provision of this chapter and except as otherwise provided in this section, a contractor
or subconfractor engaged in horizontal constraction who employs a worker on a public work pursuant to NES 338040
shall use one or more apprentices for at least 3 percent of the total hours of labor worked for each apprenticed craft or
type of work to be performed on the public work for which more than three workers are employed.

Horizontal Construction NES 338.010 - Subdivision 12. “Honzontal Construction”™ means the construction of any
fixed work. inclading any irrigation. drainage. water supply, flood control. harbor. railroad. highway. tunnel. airport
or airway, sewer, sewage disposal plant or water treatment facility and any ancillary vertical components thereof,
bridege. inland waterway. pipeline for the transmassion of petrolenm or any other liquid or gaseous substance. pier, and
work incidental thereto. The term does not include vertical consttuction, the constiuction of any terminal or other
building of an airport or airway. or the construction of any other building_

Vertical Construction NES 338.010 - Subdivision 23. ““Vertical Constmiction”™ means the construction or
remodelmy of any bwlding. structure or other improvement that is predominantly wertical, mcluding, without
limatation, a building. structure or improvement for the support, shelter and enclosure of persons, animals, chattels or
movable property of any kind, and any improvement appurtenant thereto.

Complex or Hazardous Work - The Labor Commissioner will view complex and hazardous work to include, buat not
be limited to, work performed on a public work project that is traditionally not performed by Apprentices pursuant to
thewr Apprentice Agreement Collective Bargaining A greement. andfor any other wnitten justification demonstrating
that the work to be performed should not be performed by Apprentices.

A Public Body'Awarding Body, upon the request of a contractor or subcontractor, MAY submit a request for a
modification or waiver of the percentage of hours of labor of one or more apprentices prior to (1) the bid advertisement;
(2} the bid opening:; or (3} the award of the contract if, “Good Cause™ exists. The Labor Commissioner may also gramt
a waiver from the requirements of SB 207 after work on the public work has commenced.

Sample Forms and information on SB 207 can be found at:
h ticeship TTulization Act/Apprenticeship Utilization Act/

Additional information on Public Works Projects and Prevailing Wages by region can be found at waww labornw. gowv
or by following the links below.

12



GUIDELINES FOR AWARDING BODIES AND CONTRACTORS/SUBCONTRACTORS

Senate Bill 207 applies to Public Works Projects (INE.S 338 010 — Subdivision 23) over $100.000.
(Exemptions may apply — See NES sections 338.011and 338.090.)

For each Public Works Project (PWP) Bid Advertisement. Bid Opening. and Comntract, the Public
Body/Awarding Body should include the requirements of Senate Bill 207. The Public Body/Awarding Body
should also determine if the PWP requires the performance of uniquely complex or hazardeus work.

Contractors/Subcentractors should determine if they can meet the Apprentice %6 requirements set forth in SB
207 or need to request Apprentices from a Fegistered Apprenficeship Program. Contractors/Subcontractors
can request Apprentices using the Apprentice Fegquest Form or request Apprenfices in writing from a
Eegistered Apprenticeshap Program. (Wiarten documentarion will be required by the Labor Commissioner
iffa Request for Warver is submirred. )

If the Apprentice Fegquest is approved and Apprentices are dispatched. an Apprentice Agreement may need
to be executed between the Registered Apprenticeship Program and the Contractor/Subcontractor.

Apprentice Issues - Issues and/or complaints regarding the qualifications and/or work of an Apprentice that
is dispatched should be directed to the Registered Apprenticeship Program or the State of Newvada
Apprenticeship Council. Please follow link cffowinn v sov/ Apprenticeship/ AboutS ACS

A Reguest for Waiver MAY be submitted by the PUBLIC BODY/AWARDING BODY to the Office of the
Labor Commuissioner if: (1) No Registered Apprentice Programs exist in the jurisdiction for the craft'type of
weork required for the PWP: (2) A request for Apprentices was denied or not acted upon within 5 business
days: or (3} The PWP requires the performance of uniquely complex or hazardous work.

ONLY THE PUBIIC BODYAWARDING BODY CAN SUBMIT 4 REQUEST FOR WAITER.
REQUESTS FOR WAITERS SHOULD BE SUBMITTED 45 SO0ON A5 POSSIBLE.

Within 15 days of receipt of the Request for Waiver. the Office of the Labor Commissioner will issue a
DecisionDetermination granting or denying the Feguest for Waiver on the form that was subnutted.

The Public Body/Awarding Body. Contractor. or Subcontractor can appeal the Decision/Determination within
10 days of issnance.

The Public Body/Awarding Body shall monitor the PWE consistent with the laws and regulations set forth in
MNevada Fevised Statutes (INE.S) section 338 and Nevada Administrative Code (INAC) sectiom 338, Ifa
Waiver has not been granted the Public Body/Awarding Body shall ensure that certified payrell reports and
any other required documentation are submitted and maintained demonstrating compliance with SB 207

For additional information please contact us at:

Office of the Labor Commissioner Office of the Labor Commissioner

1218 Coellege Parloway., Suite 102 3300 W. Sahara Avenne, Suite 2235

Carson City, NV 89706 773-684-1890 Las Vegas. NW 89102 T02-486-2650
AUTA splabor v, gow AUTA @ labor nw. gow

TOLL FEEE: 1-800-992-0900 Ext. 4850 - www labor nw. gow

*Far informational purposes only and not o be considered legal advice. * See MNES and WAC 338 and Senme Bill 207. COLC 1219

13



AUA STATISTICS'&REMINDE

uring the period covering January 1, 2020, through September 30, 2020, there were 111 Request for
Waivers submitted to the Labor Commissioner. Of those Request for Waivers, 107 were granted and
4 were denied. For the period covering January 1, 2020, through September 30, 2020, there were 677
public works project numbers (PWP #'s) issued.

A few reminders:

Only the awarding/public body can submit the Request for Waiver.

If there are more than 3 workers per craft or type of work performed, even for limited periods of
time, the contractor(s)/subcontractor(s) needs to document this and work with the awarding/public
body to request an apprentice and/or document why an apprentice is not required.
Awarding/public bodies should also work with the Registered Apprenticeship Programs on
apprentice ratios and contact the Registered Apprenticeship Program directly about the ratios and
establish those at the start of the PWP.

Awarding/public bodies are expected to conduct a review of project hours upon the completion of
a PWP and verify that contractor(s)/subcontractor(s) have complied with the Apprenticeship
Utilization Act and/or that a Request for Waiver was submitted to the Labor Commissioner.
Violations of the Apprenticeship Utilization Act may result in a $5,000.00 administrative penalty
against the awarding/public body and/or the contractor(s)/subcontractor(s).

Please visit the following link for more information.

http://labor.nv.gov/Apprenticeship Utilization Act/Apprenticeship Utilization Act/

14


http://labor.nv.gov/Apprenticeship_Utilization_Act/Apprenticeship_Utilization_Act/
http:5,000.00

Project Labor Agreement (PLA) Definition

A common definition for a project labor agreement is the following. A project labor agreement
(PLA) is a pre-hire collective bargaining agreement typically with one or more labor organizations
that establishes the terms and conditions of employment for a specific construction project. They
are typically negotiated between a public body or contracting agency, and an appropriate
contractor and labor organizations (such as an area or state building and construction trades
councils and relevant local unions). As a condition of being awarded a contract, the contractor,
which could be a non-union contractor must sign the negotiated PLA.

Senate Bill (SB) 231 of the 80" Session of the Nevada Legislature (2019) eliminated the
prohibitions on PLA’s in the State of Nevada. Specifically, SB 231 eliminated Nevada Revised
Statutes (NRS) section 338.1405.

NRS 338.1405 Requirements regarding agreements with labor organizations prohibited;
exceptions. Repealed. (See chapter 132, Statutes of Nevada 2019, at page 722, and chapter
175, Statutes of Nevada 2019, at page 936.)

A Public Body can now enter into PLA’s and a contractor or subcontractor can now enter into or
adhere to any agreement with one or more labor organizations in regard to a public work. PLA’s
still have certain criteria that must be met and are project specific.

PLA’s are also authorized under the National Labor Relations Act (NLRA), 29 U.S.C. 88 151-
169. Sections 8(e) and (f) of the NLRA, 29 U.S.C. 88 158(e) and (f) make special exceptions
from other requirements of the NLRA in order to permit employers to enter into pre-hire
agreements with labor unions in the construction industry. The following Executive Order 13502
is also still in effect.

15
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MARCH 24, 2020
REMINDER ABOUT NEVADA LABOR LAWS AND REQUIRED POSTINGS

&
EXTENSIONS MAY BE GRANTED FOR EMPLOYER AND EMPLOYEE RESPONSES

REMINDER ABOUT NEVADA LABOR LAWS

The Office of the Labor Commissioner is the principal wage and hour and labor regulatory
agency for the State of Nevada. QOur office is responsible for ensuring that minimum
wage, prevailing wage, and overtime are paid to employees in Nevada, and that
employee rest, break, and lunch periods are provided.

The recent events related to COVID-19 have generated multiple questions regarding
MNevada labor laws and ongoing enforcement. Please be advised that Nevada labor
laws are still being enforced by the Nevada Labor Commissioner and will continue
to be enforced. Employers MUST continue to follow Nevada labor laws. Information
about Newvada labor laws can be found on our website at www.labor.nv.gov and questions
can be submitted to maill@labor.nv.gov.

REQUIRED POSTINGS
The following postings are required to be posted by private employers in Nevada. The
MNewvada Labor Commissioner does conduct inspections to venfy postings.

Required Postings can be obtained at www labor.nv.gov
o Annual Minimum Wage and Owvertime Bulletin(s)
Rules to be Observed by Employers
MNotice of Limitations Affecting the Application of Lie Detector Tests
Domestic Violence Victinm's Rights Bulletin
Domestic Worker's Bill of Rights
Paid Leave

EXTENSIONS MAY BE GRANTED FOR EMPLOYER AND EMPLOYEE RESPONSES
Based on recent events and the Governor's decision to have non-essential businesses
shut down, it is possible that an employer or employee may not be able to respond to
wage claims/complaints within 15-days. Even a business that is deemed essential may
not be able to respond within 15-days due to circumstances outside of their control. The
Labor Commissioner may extend the time for response pursuant to MNevada
Administrative Code (NAC) section 607.040 based on good cause and the public health
emergency relating to COVID-19. This may be done on a case by case basis.

16



Required Postings can be obtained at www.labor.nv.gov

o Annual Minimum Wage and Overtime Bulletin(s)

o Rules to be Observed by Employers

o Notice of Limitations Affecting the Application of Lie Detector Tests

o Domestic Violence Victim’s Bulletin — Senate Bill 361, 2017 Legislative
Session

o Domestic Worker’s Bill of Rights — Senate Bill 232, 2017 Legislative Session

o Paid Leave — Senate Bill 312, 2019 Legislative Session

o Minimum Wage Bulletin — Assembly Bill 456, 2019 Legislative Session

17


http://www.labor.nv.gov/

/m ----- ge Increase
B 456 (Passed 2019 Legislative Sessuon)

Effective Date Lower Tier Higher Tier
July 1, 2020 $8.00 $9.00
July 1, 2021 $8.75 $9.75
July 1, 2022 $9.50 $10.50
July 1, 2023 $10.25 $11.25

July 1, 2024 $11.00 $12.00



How Minimum Wage lm pacts The
Overtime Rates? (/ ill Change
These Rates Starting July 1, 2020

> Employers must pay 1-1/2 times an employee’s regular wage rate whenever an employee who is
paid less than 1-1/2 times the applicable minimum wage rate works more than 40 hours in any
workweek or more than 8 hours in any workday*, unless otherwise exempted. (NRS 608.018)

“ EMPLOYEE OFFERED QUALIFIED HEALTH BENEFITS

Pay Overtime at 1-1/2 times an Employee’s Regular Rate if:

(1) Employee works over 8 hours in a 24-hour period or over 40 hours in a week;
(2) Employee is offered qualified health benefits;
(3) Employee Makes Less than $12.00 per hour.

“ EMPLOYEE NOT OFFERED QUALIFIED HEALTH BENEFITS

Pay Overtime at 1-1/2 times an Employee’s Regular Rate if:

(1) Employee works over 8 hours in a 24-hour period or over 40 hours in a week;
(2) Employee Makes Less than $13.50 per hour.

*Four-Tens (4/10’s) exception - By mutual agreement, the employee can work a schedule of four ten
(4/10’s) hour days in a workweek. Must be a regular and consistent schedule. If the 4/10 schedule is

not followed it will revert to overtime. (See Advisory Opinion AO 2013-04)
19



Non Standard Deductions (NAC 608.160):

The employer is required to have the
employee voluntarily authorize in writing
the specific purpose, pay period, and
amount of deduction.

May not us a blanket authorization.

Record Keeping (NRS 608.115 and NAC
608.140):

Gross wage or salary, deductions, net cash
or salary, number of hours per day, date of
payment); the records have to be kept for 2
years from the date the information was
recorded.

Uniforms (NRS 608.165):

If the uniforms clearly identify the employee
with the business, the employer shall
provide the uniform at no cost or deposit.

The employer must also pay for any cost
that is required for special cleaning of the
uniform.

Payment (NRS 608.060, NRS 608.070 and NRS
608.080):

At least semimonthly and maintain the same
scheduled paydays.

Paystub (NRS 608.110 and NRS 608.115):

ltemized list of deductions showing the
respective deductions made from the total
amount of wages or compensation; any
additional deduction should be authorized
by the employee.

Breaks & Lunches (NRS 608.019 and NAC
608.145):

Provide 10 minutes for each 3 1/2 hours
worked and at least 30 minutes

uninterrupted lunch break for employee
working a continuous period of 8 hours.

Employee Terminated or Resigned/Quit
Payment (NRS 608.020 and NRS 608.030):

Immediately or within three days —
terminated by the employer.

Next regular payday or within 7 days —
resign or quit. 29



Bulletins and Guides can be obtained at www.labor.nv.gov

o Nursing Mothers Accommodations — Assembly Bill 113, 2017 Legislative Session

o Tip Guide

o Notice to Employer of Sick or Injured Employee — Assembly Bill 181, 2019
Legislative Session

o Independent Contractor — Information Sheet

o Meal and Rest Period Notice

o Request for Meal and Rest Period Waiver Form

o AB 132 Guide to the Marijuana Testing Bill

21
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STEVE SISOLAK

TERRY REYNOLDS
Director

SHANNON M. CHAMBERS
Labor Commissioner

PHONE (775) 684-1890
FAX (775) 687-6409

LAS VEGAS, NEVADA 83102
PHONE (702) 486-2650
FAX (702 486-2660

Department of Business & Industry
OFFICE OF THE LABOR COMMISSIONER
hitp:/Amww.labor.nv.gov

TELEWORK GUIDE

Nevada labor laws do not prevent employers from encouraging employees to work from
home or to reach an agreement with their employees to work from home. These types of
work arrangements have become necessary due to the COVID-19 Public Health
Emergency. However, it is important to recognize that Nevada Labor Laws still apply.

Employees may not be classified as Independent Contractors merely because they are
performing work at a different location other than their regular place of work, or from their
home.

For information regarding determining Independent Contractor status please refer to
Nevada Revised Statutes (NRS) section 608.0155 and Nevada Administrative Code (NAC)
section 608.155(4). Pursuant to NRS section 608.400, willful misclassification may result
in a fine of $5,000.00 for each employee who is misclassified.

¢ Employees must be paid for each hour worked. (NRS section 608.016) Employers
may not elect to have employees work without pay and claim the work was
performed on a voluntary basis.

¢ Employees must be paid for Overtime Hours worked unless there is a specific
exemption that applies. (NRS section 608.018)

* Employers must maintain Daily Time Records reflecting how many hours each
employee worked. (NRS section 608.115) There are po special provisions that
provide an exemption to this requirement and it applies to all employees regardless
of the pay structure.

¢« Employees should maintain a Telework Log documenting the hours worked during
the Workweek.

*  Employees must be permitted to take a 10-minute Paid Rest Period for every
4-hours of work or fraction thereof and a 30-minute unpaid Meal Period for every
continuous 8-hours of work. (NRS section 608.019)

* Employers may not reduce the Rate of Pay unless the employee has been provided
with a written 7-day notice prior to the new rate taking effect. (NRS 608.100)

+ Employees may not be paid less than the applicable Minimum Wage unless there
is a specific exemption that applies. (NRS section 608.250 & NAC section 608.100)

¢ Employers must establish and maintain a Regular Pay Day. (NRS section 608.080)

¢« Employees must be paid at least Semi-Monthly. (NRS section 608.070)
However, the employer may choose to pay wages more frequently.

OFFICE OF THE LABOR COMMISSIONER
1818 COLLEGE PARKWAY, SUITE 102
CARSON CITY, NEVADA 89706

OFFICE OF THE LABOR COMMISSIONER

3300 W. SAHARA AVE. SUITE 225
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Release(s) of Liability as a Condit

STEESECAK R OF THE LB COMMERIONTS
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Department of Business & Industry
OFFICE OF THE LABOR COMMISSIONER
www labor o

COVID-19 Release(s) of Liabilitv as a

Condition of Emplovinent
Information for Emplovers and Fmplovees

An Emplover Cannot Ask an Emplovee to Waive Rights or Benefits Under Nevada's
Indusirial Insurance Act (Workers® Compensation)

Pursuant to stafute, a contract requinng an employes to waive nights or benefits under Nevada’s
Industrial Insurance Act is void. (Wevada Revised Statutes (NE.S) section 6168 609)

Emplovers Need to Determine if the Potential Release of Liability Violates Public Policy

Emplo}fe&i in Nevada are presumed to be “at-will” which potentially gives an employer the nght

an employee for any reason so long as the reason does not violate public policy.
Howeva' an employer should work with their available uman resources staff and legal counsel if
possible and review the applicable laws and regulations and available legal authority to determine
if a release of liabality viclates public policy.

Emplovee Working Environments and Conditions

MNES Chapter 618 sets forth the Nevada Occupational Safety and Health Act. The purpese of the
Nevada Occupational Safety and Health Act and the purpose of the chapter is “to provide safe and
healthful working conditions for every employes.” (NES 618.015)) Emplovers should review
these provisions when considering a release of Liability.

Contract Enforcement and a Release of Liabilicv

Depending upon the language and provisions contained in a release of liability. it is possible that
the principles of contract interpretation and comtract law could come into play m terms of the
enforcement and applicability of a release of liability. Again it is recommended that an employer
work with their available human resources staff and legal coumsel if possible, to review the
applicable laws and regulations and available legal authority to determine if a release of liability
can be enforced as a contract based on its terms.

Future Federal or State Statutory or Regulatory Changes Regarding Fmplover Liabilitv
and COVID-19

The Office of the Labor Commissioner will continue to monitor any changes at the federal and
state level regarding enmployer habu.ln} and release(s) of liability as they relate to the COVID-19
public health emergency. If new laws and regulations are enacted that address the issue of
employer liability as it relates to COVID-19, they will be posted on the Office of the Labor
Commissioner website at www labor nv.gov along with existing labor laws and regulations.

*For informstions] purposes only and not to be considered legal advice * OLC 572020
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Nevada Roadmap to Recove

Important Links

Nevada Health Response
e https://nvhealthresponse.nv.gov/nevada-united/

Full Document Phase One Initial - Guidance

e https://nvhealthresponse.nv.gov/wp-content/uploads/2020/05/Roadmap-to-Recovery-Phase-
One-Initial-Guidance.pdf

CDC Reopening Guidance: Cleaning and Disinfecting Public Spaces Including Your
Workplace, School, Home, and Business

e https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/community/reopen-guidance.html

Industry-Specific Guidance Released for Phase 1 Reopening in Nevada

e https://nvhealthresponse.nv.gov/wp-content/uploads/2020/05/Industry-specific-Guidance-
Documents-1.pdf

Office of the Labor Commissioner
e http://labor.nv.gov/Employer/Bulletins  Guides/
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the Labor Commlssmner
Request for Advisory Opinion — NAC 607.650

Petition for Declaratory Order — NAC 607.670
Training and Seminars for Employees and Employers
Employer Association and Employee Associations
Awarding/Public Body Working Groups

Awarding/Public Body Handbook/Guide



Contact Informatlon

www.labor.nv.gov - Website

Maill@Ilabor.nv.gov — General Questions

PublicWorks@Iabor.nv.gov — Public Works/Prevailing Wage Questions

AUA@Iabor.nv.gov — Apprenticeship Utilization Act Questions

Northern Nevada:
e David Gould, Senior Investigator, (775) 684-1890
* Jennafer Jenkins, Auditor/Investigator, (775) 684-1890

Southern Nevada:
e Lleta Brown, Deputy Labor Commissioner, (702) 486-2650
* Lupe Martinez, Chief Investigator, (702) 486-2650

Shannon Chambers, Labor Commissioner, (775) 684-1890
(702) 486-2650
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