Frequently Asked Questions
Q.) What is Nevada’s minimum wage rate?
A.) Nevada is a two tier minimum wage
system. Minimum wage is $8.00 for
employers who offer employees a
qualified health benefit plan. $9.00 must
be paid if the employer does not offer a
qualified health benefit plan. As of July 1,
2020, the minimum wage will increase by
seventy-five cent increments and will cap
at $11.00 per hour for the lower tier rate
and $12.00 per hour for the higher tier
rate, by July 1, 2024. Assembly Bill (AB)
Q.) What is a qualified health insurance
A.) You can refer to Nevada Administrative
Code (NAC) sections 608.102 and NAC 608.104.
Q.) When must an employee receive their
final wages after a separation?
A.) If the employee quits employment, they
must receive their final wages within 7 days or by the next regular pay day, whichever
is earlier. If the employee is discharged, they must receive
their final wages within 3 days (Nevada Revised Statutes 680.020-NRS
608.040). The calculation of days should exclude the first day and
include the last unless the last day is a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday,
in which case the next business day is the last day of the time limit.
Q.) Do Salaried Employees receive overtime?
A.)There are exemptions to overtime pay,
however, just because an employee is paid a salary rate, does not automatically
exempt them from overtime. For a list of overtime exemptions, please
review NRS 608.018 and the Fair Labor Standards Act fact sheets. https://www.dol.gov/agencies/whd/flsa
Q.) Does overtime have to be paid for any
work performed over 8 hours in a day or over 40 hours in a week?
A.) If an employee makes less than one and
one half times minimum wage ($12.00/$13.50) per hour, the employee would be paid
overtime for time worked over 8 hours in a 24-hour period. If and
employee makes more than one and one half times minimum wage, the employee
would be paid overtime for time worked over 40 hours in a week. The
only exception is if an employee agrees to work 4, 10 hour
shifts. However, any deviations from the 4-10 rule could cause overtime
to accrue (NRS 608.018).
Q.) When can deductions be made to an
A.) Deductions, other than those required
by law and contributions to benefit programs, can only be deducted from your
employee’s paycheck if there is a prior specific signed authorization
from the employee. The written authorization must include the specific
amount being deducted, the purpose for the deduction, and the pay period/date
in which the deduction will be made (NRS 608.110 and NAC 608.160).
often does an employee have to receive a rest/meal break?
A.) An employee must be given a paid, 10
minute break for each 4 hour period of work. In addition, employees
are entitled to an unpaid, 30 minute meal period for each 8 hour period of work
Q.) Can an employer lower an employee’s
rate of pay?
the employer must provide the employee with a 7 day written notice before
lowering their pay (NRS 608.100).
Q.)How often are employees
required to be paid?
A.) Nevada law requires employers to pay their employees at least twice a month (NRS 608.060).
Q.)Is Tip Pooling allowed under
A.)Yes, employers may establish
mandatory tip pools that include
employees of different ranks, so
long as all the tips are distributed
amongst the employees, and the
employer does not keep any
portion of the tips for themselves.
Wynn Las Vegas, LLC v.
Baldonado, et al., 129 Nev.,
Advance Opinion 78 (Oct. 31,
Q.)May an employer take a portion of
an employee’s tips?
A.)An employer may not take all or a
part of any tips or gratuities or
apply as a credit toward the
payment of the minimum wage.
Q.)Must a sick employee report to
A.)No, an employee is not required to be
physically present at work to notify his
or her employer that he or she is sick or
has sustained a non-work related injury
and cannot work. AB 181-2019
Q.)May an employer charge for
A.) No, all uniforms or accessories
distinctive as to style, color or
material shall be furnished, without
cost, to employees by their employer.
Q.)Must an employer provide paid leave?
A.)Effective January 1, 2020, yes, a private
employer who employs 50 or more
employees in the state of Nevada must
provide 0.01923 hour of paid leave per
hour of work performed. Senate Bill
Q.) How are claims filed?
A.) Claims can be filed online by visiting our website at: www.http://labor.nv.gov/ and selecting the Complaint Forms link.
1818 College Parkway, Suite 102 Carson City, NV 89706 Phone: (775) 684-1890 Fax:
Las Vegas: 3300 West
Sahara Avenue, Suite 225 Las Vegas, NV 89102 Phone: (702) 486-2650 Fax:
For questions about public works:firstname.lastname@example.org
*Please review the most recent version of the Nevada Revised Statutes and/or Nevada Administrative Codes for the most current laws.*
This information is not intended as legal advice.